Land of the Wind Turbines

Turbines1283FilmGrainFilter

Last week my son and I drove my daughter back to Los Angeles for another year of school at USC. Mid-way in our drive we went through a most surreal area near Palm Springs which is home to a sea of wind turbines. I’ve driven past this area numerous times, but I never get bored with it. For ten or fifteen minutes life is not normal; the landscape is surreal. The row after row of marching turbines takes on an other-worldly look.

I enjoy those few minutes of Twilight Zone-like existence; however, I do realize the turbines are, in all actuality, not at all surreal. They serve to convert kinetic energy in the wind into mechanical energy, from which a specific task can be performed like pumping water, or converted into electricity with the use of a generator.

For more information on wind power harvesting via turbines, visit: www1.eere.energy.gov/windandhydro/wind_how.html

 

Image copyrighted. File sharing, copying and reproducing is prohibited.

