Butterfly Egg

Egg1475

Last week while I was watering my plants, I noticed a monarch butterfly fluttering around my Tangelo tree. As I watched I realized it was looking for a place upon which it could lay its eggs. Sure enough, it laid the tiniest little egg on one of the leaves and then flew away. It was so small I couldn’t really see it, so I made a mental note as to which leaf it was, then went inside to get my camera. By using the macro lens, I was able to magnify and thereby focus closely on the leaf and see the less than 1/8 cm egg precariously resting on the curled up under side of the leaf. Three days later the caterpillar should have eaten its way out of the egg, but my schedule and attention got diverted, so I missed out on that part of the process.

 

Image copyrighted. Reproduction, copying and file sharing prohibited.

One thought on “Butterfly Egg

Comments are closed.

