Fine Art in Orlando

OMA_9996

In 2006 I was part of a press trip sponsored by the Peabody Hotel’s Orlando Peabody Alliance for the Arts and Culture (OPAAC),  which brought travel writers and photographers to  Orlando to discover all that is art in a city usually viewed as a venue for amusement parks. We didn’t go anywhere near those typical tourist spots, but instead basked in a week of art and culture. I’m sure I speak for most people when I say I had no idea the city has such a rich arts community. Indeed, they created the Alliance for this reason. Orlando does have some wonderful amusement parks and attractions, but there is so much more in their vibrant community. 

I will post photos from some of the other spots we visited in future blog posts, but here’s one taken at the Orlando Museum of Art as our group contemplated the wonder of glass art genius Dale Chihuly. You can see more of his fantastic work at:    www.chihuly.com

Next time you are in Orlando, please consider visiting some of these fabulous venues for art and culture which I saw on my trip:

Orlando Museum of Art:   www.omart.org

Polasek Museum & Sculpture Gardens: www.polasek.org

Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art: www.morsemuseum.org

The Maitland Art Center: www.maitlandartcenter.org

Zora Neale Hurston National Museum of Fine Arts: www.zoranealehurstonmuseum.com

The Orlando Ballet:   www.orlandoballet.org

