Cardinal

Last winter I spotted this male Cardinal sitting in my Tangelo tree on a crisp December morning. Luckily I had one of my cameras at home with a 200mm IS lens already attached. I snapped two shots through the window of my family room and then he flew away. Wow, I guess his ears are burning: I haven’t spotted him in some time, but I hear him outside right now!

The Cardinal (Cardinalidea) is a bird in the passerine family which is found in North and South America. The bright red ones are the males. They eat seeds and some fruit, but particularly like sunflower seeds. If you want to attract them to your yard, they prefer a stationary feeder over one that hangs.

To learn more about this bird, visit the following site:

www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Northern_Cardinal/lifehistory

 

Image copyrighted. Reproduction, copying and file sharing prohibited.

3 thoughts on “Cardinal

Comments are closed.

