For Harold Jones …

I had the good fortune to study fine art photography under the instruction of Harold Jones at the University of Arizona in the early 1980’s.  Harold was at the George Eastman House, founded the Light Gallery in New York & was the founding director of the Center for Creative Photography in Tucson before becoming professor of photography at the UofA. Harold retired five years ago, but as a teacher he was humorous, approachable & always encouraging, no matter how far from his own style was one’s personal vision.

Friday evening I went to a lecture by Harold at the Center for Creative Photography and was reminded of his love of images with visual layers; the looking through one layer in an image to see other information below. I’ve had this photograph I made at Tohono Chul Park sitting in my “use on blog”  folder for some time now, but wasn’t sure about what I’d write to go along with it, other than to describe the plant, which is a Sacred Datura that has been lunch to some bugs. Now that I have become re-acquainted with Harold’s passions I can see that this image might be one he would enjoy, since it incorporates a layered quality (without any Photoshop trickery). So,  I will display this image in homage to my mentor.

To learn more about Harold visit his web site at www.HaroldHJones.com  and see his current show : “A Fortunate Life” at ArtsEye Gallery in Tucson through April 15, 2010.

Image copyrighted. Reproduction, copying & file sharing prohibited.

6 thoughts on “For Harold Jones …

  1. Awwww. That is sweet. I miss Harold. I miss classes. I miss photography. Thanks for giving me that bit of it to keep me going.

    Like

Comments are closed.

