Tombstone Roses

I saw this gorgeous Tombstone Rose at the Tucson Botanical Gardens yesterday when I was there to photograph a high school senior for her graduation announcements. It’s a great time to visit the museum since the temperature is perfect and the spring blooms are in full force. The “Butterfly Magic” exhibit is still going on too. See www.tucsonbotanical.org for more details.

If you’d like to see the Guinness World Records largest rose tree, take a drive down to Tombstone, Arizona this weekend for the Tombstone Rose Festival April 3rd and 4th. According to http://www.lasr.net/travel/city.php?Tombstone&Arizona&City_ID=AZ0402024&VE=Y the bush covers over 8,000 square feet. Apparently it has bloomed over 124 times. I remember it from when I lived in Tombstone as a little girl, some 42 years ago. It was huge … but then I was under five years old, so everything looked pretty huge to me!

Image copyrighted. Reproduction &/or copying prohibited without proper licensing fee.

