Design Perfection

Raindrops on spiderweb, as captured by Tucson photographer Martha Lochert

I followed my own advise from the previous blog post to get out and photograph the rain drops that were in abundance after our three days of rain. What I had not expected was a foggy morning, but more on that in an upcoming post.

As I had mentioned in my previous post, with macro photography and the close proximity of lens to subject distance, even with an f-stop of 8, my depth of field is so shallow that only the point at which I focused and anything on that same plane is sharp.

This and the following posts are for my friend Mary Ann, who posted a photo on Facebook of a spider web very similar to one I had made the morning she uploaded her photo. The water droplets, coloration of the background, and the plants in which it sits were all the same. In the comment chain she mentioned that she wished she had a macro lens to get closer and see the individual rain drops, so rather than post the shot that matches hers, I’m posting the version she wanted to get.  This one is the close-up version of hers. I love the four precisely placed large drops in the center.

Image registered with office of copyright – US Library of Congress. Any use requires licensing from Martha Lochert.

http://www.MarthaLochertPhotography.com

