Groovy Dutch Messenger Bicycle

Photo by Tucson photographer Martha Lochert.

Photo by Tucson photographer Martha Lochert.

At a recent studio session, one of the ladies in a group I was photographing, arrived on the Dutch messenger bicycle shown here. My immediate reaction was to ask if I could photograph her bike, since I have a friend who would dig seeing it, since she also owns a Dutch messenger bike.

I love the color, the lines and the unpretentious appearance of this urban work horse.

During the 1970’s, Batavus was the leading manufacturer of bicycles and mopeds in the Netherlands. Their company founded in 1904 is still going strong, since bicycles are still a major form of transportation in the Netherlandish culture.

Designed to hold cargo on the front and back, as well as in optional panniers attachable to the sides of the rear wheel, this bicycle can carry a lot. No need to waste gasoline when making a delivery or going to the grocery store; it will all fit on the bicycle and the rider will keep themselves in shape in the process.

I don’t know what year this particular model is, but I like it, and I think my friend will too.

 

 

Photo is copyrighted.  Any use requires licensing from Martha Lochert.

www.MarthaLochertPhotography.com

 

 

