This From The LEAST Risky Skin Cancer …

Stitches_MLP9973_1000px

Wear your sunblock, kids …

This is not the first time I have been cut into, and I’m sure it will not be that last, given that I am of Irish descent, but have lived my entire life in Arizona, where the duration of sunshine (in the Sonoran Desert in which Tucson sits) is second only to the Sahara Desert, world-wide. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunshine_duration

I do wear sunblock and a hat when I know I will be outside for extended periods of time, but the tricky part is sun damage builds up over time, so a little here and a little there equals damage. I’ve lived a long enough time that I’m paying the price for living in the sunshine. I, of course, belong in a cloudy, rainy environment like Ireland, but alas … I’m here. And my Irish grandparents on both sides were the first generation of Irish-Americans in our lineage, so evolutionary adaptation hasn’t kicked in.

That being said, everyone who lives in this part of the world, regardless of heritage, is at risk, as it is the build-up of exposure to UV radiation over time that causes the damage. There are other risk factors, but UV exposure (from the sun or tanning booths, which I have never done) is the main cause: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/basal-cell-carcinoma/basics/risk-factors/con-20028996

So another cutting and another batch of stitches from a wonderful dermatologist who is always concerned about “not scarring my pretty face.”

This was a basal cell carcinoma – the LEAST risky of all the skin cancers, according to http://www.webmd.com/melanoma-skin-cancer/basal-cell-carcinoma There are worse ones … not to mention other bodily damage like immune suppression and eye problems like cataracts and macular degeneration, which UV exposure causes.

Look at this picture, then remember to wear your sunblock and to choose shade over direct sun when possible – and do yourself a favor and get a head-to-toe skin check at a dermatologist, so you can catch these things early, when they lurk, unbeknownst to you.

Any use of this image use requires licensing from Martha Lochert. www.MarthaLochertPhotography.com

 

 

